Pictures of the Year LATAM Announced

Pictures of the YearNuestra Mirada, Tempo d’Imagem and the Universidade Federal do Ceará have the honor of announcing winners from the POY Latam 2013 photojournalism contest that concluded on Friday, April 12, 2013 in Fortaleza, Ceará, Brazil. The six international jury members finished a week of judging by selecting the “Latin American Photographer of the Year” as well as winners in three other special categories, “The Nuestra Mirada Award” (photo essays about the middle and upper class), the “Carolina Hidalgo Vivar Human Landscape Award” and the “Best Photojournalism Book Award.”  

The six international judges – Mary Ellen Mark (U.S.), Nair Benedicto (Brazil), Pascal Maitre (France), Santiago Harker (Colombia), Luis Weinstein (Chile) and Cristina García Rodero (Spain) worked 10 to 12 hours every day discussing, debating and making selections from the more than 30,000 photographs, 100 multimedia stories and photographic books submitted in 19 categories.

All of the judging was live streamed and engaged worldwide audiences through blogs, Twitter and Facebook. 14,417 people from 89 countries tuned in.

Working closely with the Latin American photojournalism weblog nuestramirada.orgPOY Latam has become Latin America’s largest and most prestigious photojournalism contest. Its founders and directors, Pablo Corral Vega and Loup Langton, have gathered a team of like-minded idealists committed to promoting and advancing Latin American photojournalists and their work. They hope to continue to produce the contest every two years, each time selecting a different Ibero-American judging site.

We ask for your help in sharing the results of the contest. Don’t hesitate to write if you need additional information or to request a press kit.

Congratulations to all of the winners!


Vida cotidiana (individual)

Primer puesto: César Morejón, Ecuador
Segundo puesto: Rodrigo Abd, Argentina
Tercer puesto: Gustavo Jononovich, Ecuador
Mención de honor: Tomás Munita, Chile
Mención de honor: Edson Caballero, México
Mención de honor: Adrián Portugal, Perú

Vida cotidiana (serie)

Primer puesto: Edson Caballero, México
Segundo puesto: Alejandro Cartagena, México
Tercer puesto: Alejandro Kirchuk, Argentina
Mención de honor: Runa Photos, Ecuador
Mención de honor: Tomás Munita, Chile

Noticias (individual)

Primer puesto: Guillermo Arias, México
Segundo puesto: Felipe Dana, Brasil
Tercer puesto: Fernando Borges, Brasil
Mención de honor: Daniele Volpe, Italia/Guatemala
Mención de honor: Wara Vargas Lara, Bolivia

Noticias (serie)

Primer puesto: Tomás Munita, Chile
Segundo puesto: Mauricio Lima, Brasil
Tercer puesto: Javier Arcenillas, España
Mención de honor: Musuk Nolte, Perú

Retrato (individual)

Primer puesto: Alejandro Cossío, México
Segundo puesto: Lunae Parracho, Brasil
Tercer puesto: Henry Milléo, Brasil
Mención de honor: Alejandro Cossío, México
Mención de honor: Mauricio Lima, Brasil

Retrato (serie)

Primer puesto: Orlando Barría, Chile
Segundo puesto: Nelson d’Aires, Portugal
Tercer puesto: Ivan Kashinsky, Estados Unidos/Ecuador
Mención de honor: Tadeu Vilani, Brasil
Mención de honor: Henrique Manreza, Brasil

El medio ambiente (individual)

Primer puesto: Miguel Sierra, México
Segundo puesto: Sergio Moraes, Brasil

El medio ambiente (serie)

Primer puesto: Santiago Arcos, Ecuador
Segundo puesto: Jessica Pons, Argentina
Tercer puesto: Pedro David, Brasil
Mención de honor: Pedro Armestre, España

Deportes (individual)

Primer puesto: Jorge Silva, México
Segundo puesto: César Morejón, Ecuador
Tercer puesto: Gustavo Cherro, Argentina
Mención de honor: Lucas Ninno, Brasil

Deportes (serie)

Primer puesto: Nacho Doce, España
Segundo puesto: David Ramos, España
Tercer puesto: Rodrigo Cruz, México
Mención de honor: Juan Gonzalez, Chile

Fiestas, tradiciones & religión (individual)

Primer puesto: David Airob, España
Segundo puesto: Christian Ugarte, Perú
Tercer puesto: Miguel Mejía, Perú
Mención de honor: Victor Otero, España

Fiestas, tradiciones & religión (serie)

Primer puesto: Joaquín Sarmiento, Colombia
Segundo puesto: Jean Souza Lopes, Brasil
Tercer puesto: Myriam Meloni, España
Mención de honor: Simon Plestenjak, Eslovenia/Brasil
Mención de honor: Jordi Cohen, España

Vivir con las drogas en Iberoamérica

Primer puesto: Valerio Bispuri, Italia/Argentina
Segundo puesto: Tomás Munita, Chile
Tercer puesto: Alejandro Olivares, Chile
Mención de honor: David Vexelman, Perú
Mención de honor: Felipe Dana, Brasil


Primer puesto: Luis Angel, Colombia
Primer puesto: Gustavo Pellizzon, Brasil
Tercer puesto: Colectivo BajaAlta, México
Mención de honor: Walter Shintani, México
Mención de honor: Ramón Ángel Acevedo Arce, Chile

El mejor libro de fotografía

Ganador: Stephen Ferry, Estados Unidos/Colombia
Mención de honor: Josu Trueba Leiva, España
Mención de honor: Marcelo Buainain, Brasil
Mención de honor: Sergio Carvalho de Santana, Brasil
Mención de honor: Gilvan Barreto, Brasil

El fotógrafo iberoamericano del año

Primer puesto: Tomás Munita, Chile
Segundo puesto: Mauricio Lima, Brasil
Tercer puesto: Felipe Dana, Brasil
Mención de honor: Javier Arcenillas, España
Mención de honor: Esteban Felix, Perú

Entre lo real y lo imaginario

Primer puesto: Enrique Serrato, México
Segundo puesto: Eduardo Valenzuela, Ecuador
Tercer puesto: Santiago Hafford, Argentina
Mención de honor: Cassio Vasconcellos, Brasil
Mención de honor: Pedro Silveira, Brasil

Premio Nuestra Mirada sobre la Clase Media

Primer puesto: Janet Jarman, Estados Unidos/México
Segundo puesto: Sub Cooperativa de Fotógrafos, Argentina
Tercer puesto: Jorge Saenz, Argentina
Mención de honor: César Morejón, Ecuador

Premio Carolina Hidalgo Vivar de Paisaje Humano

Ganador: Alberto César Araujo, Brasil
Mención de honor: Felipe Barboza, Brasil
Mención de honor: Pedro David, Brasil
Mención de honor: Maria Cristina Ribeiro de Paranaguá, Brasil


About the author

RANDY OLSON’s 27 National Geographic magazine projects have taken him to many countries in Africa, the Siberian Arctic, Abu Dhabi, American Samoa, Austria, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Dubai, Guyana, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Italy, Japan, Kamchatka, Newfoundland, Pakistan, Palmyra, Republic of Georgia, Russia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, and the South Pacific.
National Geographic Society published a book of his work in their Masters of Photography series in January 2011. Olson was the 2003 Magazine Photographer of the Year in the Pictures of the Year International (POYi) competition, and was also awarded POYi’s 1992 Newspaper Photographer of the Year—one of only two photographers to win in both media in the largest photojournalism contest operating continuously since World War II. While working at The Pittsburgh Press, Olson received an Alicia Patterson Fellowship to support a seven-year project documenting a family with AIDS, and a Robert F. Kennedy Award for his story on problems with Section 8 housing. He was also awarded the Nikon Sabbatical and a grant from the National Archives to save the Pictures of the Year collection.
Melissa Farlow and Randy Olson are photojournalists in the documentary tradition. Their work has taken them to 50 countries over the past 20 years. Even though they are published in LIFE, GEO, Smithsonian and other magazines, they have primarily worked on 50 projects for the National Geographic Society. They normally work individually, but have co-produced National Geographic magazine stories on northern California, American national parks, and the Alps. They photographed the southern United States for a book by Collins Publishing and have collaborated on over 70 books by various publishers.